US imposes $15,000 visa bond on African countries

US imposes $15,000 visa bond on 15 African countries and others on tourists and business Visa


United states has issued a new temporary rule that could require tourist and business travellers from 15 African countries two and others – to pay a bond of as much as $15,000 to visit the United States.

The temporary final rule takes effect Dec. 24 and runs through June 24, targets countries whose nationals have higher rates of overstaying B-2 visas for tourists and B-1 visas for business travelers.

The visa bond rule will allow U.S. consular officers to require tourist and business travelers from countries whose nationals had an “overstay rate” of 10% or higher in 2019 to pay a refundable bond of $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000.

Though, Nigerian travellers escape paying the bond as their overall score was below the threshold of 10 per cent and above overstaying rate.

The African countries affected are Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde, Burundi.

The list also includes Iran at 21.64 per cent and Afghanistan at 11.99 per cent, as well as Bhutan, Laos, Afghanistan, Iran, Syria and Yemen.

The six-month pilot program according to outgoing administration of U.S. President Donald Trump– aims is to test the feasibility of collecting such bonds and will serve as a diplomatic deterrence to overstaying the visas. Hence, overstay places significant pressure on Department of Justice and Department of Homeland Security.