FIFA best player for messi

FIFA Unveils Nominees List of The Best 2020 Player of the Year Awards: Ronaldo, Messi, Lewandowski make lists

FIFA best Player of the Year awards is set to held on 17 December as Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Lewandowski, Lucy Bronze and Sam Kerr are amongst the biggest names to have been nominated for 2020 award.

The FIFA World Player of the Year award was first given out in 1991 to Germany’s Lothar Matthaus, captain of the team that won the FIFA World Cup™ at Italy 1990.

Although the gala has been held 28 times now, there are only 15 names on the FIFA World Player of the Year list due to repeat winners. The most prolific have been Argentina’s Lionel Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019) and Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017).

Brazil, however, is the country with the most awards with eight, courtesy of Ronaldo (1996, 1997 and 2002), Ronaldinho (2004 and 2005), Romario (1994), Rivaldo (1999) and Kaka (2007).

Apart from  C. Ronaldo’s five awards, Portugal also celebrated Luis Figo’s win in 2001, while Italy have had two winners – Fabio Cannavaro in 2006 and Roberto Baggio back in 1993.

The other names on the honours’ board are the aforementioned Matthaus (Germany), Marco van Basten (Netherlands, 1992) George Weah (Liberia, 1995) and Luka Modric (Croatia, 2018).

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

Thiago Alcântara (Spain / FC Bayern München / Liverpool FC)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus FC)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München)

Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool FC)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / FC Barcelona)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid CF)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC )

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands / Liverpool FC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City WFC)

Delphine Cascarino (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea FC Women)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

Saki Kumagai (Japan / Olympique Lyonnais)

Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany / Olympique Lyonnais)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)


The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

Marcelo Bielsa (Argentina / Leeds United FC)

Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany / FC Bayern München)

Jürgen Klopp (Germany / Liverpool FC)

Julen Lopetegui (Spain / Sevilla FC)

Zinedine Zidane (France / Real Madrid CF)