Buhari pardons late Ambrose Alli, Enahoro, 2,600 inmates and others

President Buhari has granted presidential pardon to ex-convicts among who are Prof Ambrose Ali who was the then governor of the old Bendel State in the Second Republic (1978-1983) and Chief  Anthony Enahoro was a foremost nationalist who moved the motion for Nigeria’s independence.

The president also grant pardon to Ex Lt. Col Moses Effiong, Major E. J Olanrewaju, and Mister Ajay I. Olusola Babalola and 2,600 inmates nationwide with 70 inmates from Kuje Correctional Centre as beneficiaries.

The announcement was made by Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola that the Presidential pardon was followed by the recommendations to the President by a Presidential Committee, and the imperative of drastically reducing the number of inmates in custodian centres across the country due to the outbreak of COVID 19.

He added that the gesture means that they were never convicted.

Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami who also spoke at the press conference described the 2020 presidential pardon as historic. He also disclosed that the process of selecting beneficiaries started in 2018.


About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact : Kokobest04@gmail.com
View all posts by Admin →