Brazil defeat Peru 3-1 to win 2019 Copa America

The Host country Brazil defeated Peru 3-1 Sunday to become the new Copa America champion.

Everton, Gabriel Jesus and Richarlison scored a goal each to give Brazil its ninth South American championship at a packed Maracana Stadium.

Brazil, playing the tournament without the injured Neymar, as the star and his son sat close to Brazilian president Jair Bolsonaro among the crowd of nearly 70,000 at the Maracana.

Gabriel Jesus and Richarlison also scored a goal each for Brazil, who have won the title every time they hosted the tournament.

Jesus was sent off with a second yellow card in the 70th minute, but Richarlison kept his composure from the spot with seconds left, to win it for Brazil.

Brazil’s veteran right-back Dani Alves was player of the tournament while, Everton was named player of the final and also finished as one of the tournament’s top scorers with three goals.

The victory is brazil first time to win the competition since 2007 as Brazil had not made it past the quarterfinals of the Copa América since beating Argentina 3-0 in the 2007 final in Venezuela. They did not even get past the group stage in 2016.

The last time they won the Copa América at home was in 1989, when Romário scored the winner against Uruguay at the Maracanã. it also the first for their coach Tite, who took charge of the national team three years ago

Brazil’s only other title since 2007 came in the 2013 Confederations Cup, also at home

The victory helped Brazil regain some of the fans’ confidence following the team’s elimination in the quarterfinals of the 2018 World Cup in Russia. It will also ease some of the pressure on coach Tite, who had been criticised for his selections and the team’s lacklustre performances.

Peru has not won the tournament since 1975. Uruguay are the Copa América’s most successful nation with 15 titles, one more than Argentina.


, ,

About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact : [email protected]
View all posts by Admin →