Full list of Ballon d’Or all winners since 1956 till date

The Ballon d’Or known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or is awarded to player deemed to have performed the best during the calendar year, based on voting by international managers and captains along with a journalist from each country voted to crown the world’s best player.

A panel of journalists, one from every country, will decide the winner, and will grade their nominees in three categories: performances during the calendar year, talent and fair play, and achievements throughout a career.

The winners of the Awards are selected by a diverse international jury made up of the:-

Current coaches of national teams,
The current captains of national teams and
Specialist journalists (limited to one journalist per country for the men’s Awards and one journalist per country for the women’s Awards).

Originally Ballon d’Or was an award for players from Europe. In 1995 the Ballon d’Or was expanded to include all players from any origin that have been active at European clubs.


The two awards had been merged for five years between 2010 and 2015 under the title ‘Fifa Ballon D’Or’

List of Men’s Ballon d’Or award winners

year  player       Nationality        club
2018 Luka Modric Croatia        Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal    Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina         Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal    Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal    Real Madrid
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina         Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina        Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina       Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina        Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal     Manchester United
2007 Kaká            Brazil                Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro     Italy      Real Madrid
2005 Ronaldinho      Brazil        Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko         Ukrain     Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd  Czech Republic      Juventus
2002 Ronaldo     Brazil        Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen   England       Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo Portugal    Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo   Brazil             Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane    France   Juventus
1997 Ronaldo Brazil      Internazionale
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany    Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah   Liberia     Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov    Bulgaria   Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

Please note: A player doesn’t get paid for winning the Ballon d’OR award.

What a player does get is global recognition and an increase in reputation which may result in an increase in said player’s market value thus giving him leverage for a better contract either at a new club or his current team.

Winning the Ballon d’OR is simply about the award’s allure. A lot of players don’t care about it these days, though, as it’s more about effective marketing than anything else.

List of Women’s Ballon d’Or award winners
year p      layer                Nationality       club
2018    Ada Hegerberg Norway       Olympique Lyonnais

About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact : Kokobest04@gmail.com
View all posts by Admin →