Clement Ebri bows to pressure,declares Sanwo-Olu winner of Lagos APC primary

Contrary to its earlier position on Tuesday that the Lagos APC primary did not hold, the NWC panel led by Mr Clement Ebri early Wednesday morning said the primary held.

The chairman of the primary election panel of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos, Clement Ebri, declare Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu as the winner of the primary with 970,851 votes ahead of incumbent Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, who recorded 72,901 votes.

Ebri made the declaration at a press conference in Lagos on Wednesday morning. He had earlier distanced the committee from the election, opposing the open ballot system used.

Ebri, who addressed the press around 4:30 pm at Protea Hotel, Alausa, said the election could not have hold because the committee was still expecting the list of officials appointed to supervise the election.

Prior the declaration, The party chairman in Lagos, Tunde Balogun had earlier rejected the cancellation of the election result by the NWC and stood his ground, saying the previous cancellation position of the NWC will not stand.

Balogun insisted that the poll held and it was valid, contending that it would be unfair to disenfranchise about 1.5 million party members who participated in the poll.

The party National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole maintained who briefed President Buhari on the election said “Everything that is being done (in Lagos) is done under the control of and supervision and direction of the NWC.”


About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact : [email protected]
View all posts by Admin →