Ballon d’Or 2018: Modric, Hazard & Ronaldo others shortlisted in 30-man list

The Ballon d’Or 2018 was unveiled yesterday, and  Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante,Luka Modric, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among the 30 nominees for the Ballon d’Or list.

Modric, coming off a year saw him win the Champions League with Real Madrid and lead Croatia to the World Cup final, is seen as a strong possibility to break the hold Messi and Ronaldo have on the award.

A panel of journalists, one from every country, will decide the winner and will grade their nominees in three categories: performances during the calendar year, talent and fair play, and achievements throughout a career.

This may however finally be the year Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi see their Ballon d’Or supremacy ended. Between them, Ronaldo and Messi have won each of the last 10 Ballon d’Ors.

Both men hold five awards and it seems unlikely that Messi will bag it this time. Ronaldo might after leading Real Madrid to Champions League glory in May. The 2018 Ballon d’ Or award will take place on 3rd December, 2018 in Paris.

Men’s nominees (30)
Sergio Aguero

Alisson Becker

Gareth Bale

Karim Benzema

Edinson Cavani

Thibaut Courtois

Cristiano Ronaldo

Kevin De Bruyne

Roberto Firmino

Diego Godin

Antoine Griezmann

Eden Hazard


Harry Kane

N’Golo Kante

Hugo Lloris

Mario Mandzukic

Sadio Mane


Kylian Mbappe

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric


Jan Oblak

Paul Pogba

Ivan Rakitic

Sergio Ramos

Mohamed Salah

Luis Suarez

Raphael Varane

Women’s nominees (15)
Amandine Henry

Amel Majri

Wendie Renard

Dzsenifer Marozsan

Lucy Bronze

Ada Hegerberg

Saki Kumagai


Pernille Harder

Lindsey Horan

Fran Kirby

Sam Kerr

Lieke Martens

Megan Rapinoe

Christine Sinclair


About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact :
View all posts by Admin →