Modrić, Mohammed Salah and Ronaldo shortlisted for UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award

The Union of European Football Associations, UEFA, has shortlist Mohammed Salah, Luka Modrić and Cristiano Ronaldo for their 2017/18 men’s Player of the Year Award.

All three players have utterly dominated the sport on different stages. Modric’s standout performance comes from his success with Real Madrid, but more importantly for guiding Croatia to the World Cup final. Modric won the Golden Ball as the World Cup’s best player in Russia. Ronaldo was dominant in La Liga, UEFA Champions Cup and World Cup play. And Salah stood out for Liverpool at the Champions Cup.

Messi did make the top 10 but not the shortlist (he came fifth apparently behind Antoine Griezmann) which was announced on Monday.

UEFA said “the winner will be named – along with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August,”.

The players were selected by a jury composed of 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stages of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, together with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

The rest of the top ten

4 Antoine Griezmann (Atlético & France) – 72 points
5 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) – 55 points
6 Kylian Mbappé (Paris & France) – 43 points
7 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium) – 28 points
8 Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid & France) – 23 points
9 Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium) – 15 points
10 Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid & Spain) – 12 points


About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact :
View all posts by Admin →