Gov Obaseki sacks staff and shuts down College of Agriculture in Iguoriakhi Edo State

The Edo State Governor Godwin Obaseki,has sacked the staff of the state government owned College of Agriculture, Iguoriakhi, in Ovia South West Local Government Area of the state, and closed down the institution.

Obaseki said the institution was shut because it was not worthy of being a school of agriculture, due to its poor standard.

The government, in a letter signed by the Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources, Monday Osaigbovo, dated May 25, 2018, and given to all the staff, announced the termination of their appointments.

The academic and non-academic staff as well as students of the college have instituted a legal action against the state government and its agents at the National Industrial Court, Akure Division, over their sack.

They are asking the court to declare that the disengagement of the entire staff of the institution, as well as its closure negates the extant law establishing it.

The institution was established by the then civilian administration of the late governor Ambrose Ali, in 1981, closed by the military governors and later reopened by the former governor Lucky Igbinedion administration in 2001

The claimants, in the suit filed on their behalf by their counsel, Dr. West Idahosa, want the court to declare that the fourth defendant is a creation of law, having been established pursuant to Edict No. 1 of 1992, with its commencement date as December 27, 1994, and deemed as existing law made by the eighth and ninth defendants, vide the provisions of Section 315 (1) (b) of the 1999 Constitution, as amended, among others.

The claimants in the suit are Mr. Ezomosogie Pullen Pius, Miss Iyase Linda, Mr. Unionmwan Osaro, Mrs Ovu Bridget, Mr. Amionkhabhor Benson, Mr. Avanrenren Roland, Miss Oviawe Jessy and Agbaren Esellosemhe.

The defendants are the Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources, Edo State, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Edo State, Edo State Government, College of Agriculture, Iguoriakhi, Governing Council, College of Agriculture, Iguoriakhi, Provost, College of Agriculture, Iguoriakhi, Registrar, College of Agriculture, Iguoriakhi and Speaker House of Assembly.


About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact :
View all posts by Admin →