Ambode inaugurate Consumer Protection Agency members, Move to end violation of consumer rights

Speaking at Lagos House in Alausa, Ikeja, the State Governor, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode inaugurate the board of Lagos State Consumer Protection Agency members, the board chaired by consumer rights advocate and lawyer, Mrs Olufunmilola Falana.

Governor Ambode also swore-in a new Permanent Secretary, Mr Tunde Sesan Ogundeko who is to resume work at the State’s Independent Electoral Commission.

While unveiling the terms of reference of the board,Governor Ambode said concerted efforts would be made to end the daily reported cases of violation of consumers’ rights in the State especially considering the vantage position of Lagos as the largest commercial market in Sub-Sahara Africa.

Ambode pledge to protect the rights of consumers in the State and ensure they get value for money spent on goods and services.

He said, “the establishment of the Consumer Protection Agency is a strong demonstration of our commitment to the protection of the rights of consumers, the promotion of consumer satisfaction in the State and our resolve to ensure that they get value for money spent on goods and services.

“The Lagos State Consumer Protection Agency is therefore meant to complement our reforms on the ease of doing business in the State especially as it affects the development of the Industrial, Commercial and Consumer satisfaction value chain,”

He said the establishment of the board, aside from being another giant stride of his administration designed to guarantee the welfare of the people on a sustainable basis, was also meant to complement the reforms already embarked upon by the State Government to ensure the ease of doing business in the State.

The Governor said the agency had been designed to be an effective service centre for the protection of the interests of Consumers, settlement of Consumer disputes and for other connected purposes as enshrined in the Lagos State Consumer Protection Agency Law, Cap.C13, Laws of Lagos State, 2014.

Members of the board are, Mrs Olufunmilola Falana as chair person, Olugbode O. Ajoke (General Manager), Mrs. Sola Salako Ajulo, Mr. Femi Awogbami, Mrs. Toki Mabogunje, Dr. (Mrs.) Adeleke Monsurat Modupeola, Mrs. Adejoke Oladipupo, Mr. Alayande Olanrewaju, Mrs. Faderera Lekan-Rotimi, Mr. Segun Tayo Kuti-George, Mrs. Mosunmola Samuel and Mr. Oduyebo O. Jacobs who is to serve as Secretary.

Falana thanked Governor Ambode for the opportunity given them to serve the people, assuring that they would work in the best interest of consumers and leave very good footprints on the sand of time.