Cristiano Ronaldo beat Messi, Neymar to retains 2017 FIFA Best Player award

The 32yrs old Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo beat Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Paris St-Germain’s Neymar to win 2017  FIFA best player award for this year, the second time in two years.

The Portuguese palyer, who has scored 44 goals in just 48 games for club and country so far this calendar year, played a major role in Real winning both La Liga and the Champions League.

He was announced just before 9pm at the ceremony in London by legends Diego Maradona and namesake Brazilian Ronaldo.

FIFA chief Gianni Infantino presented him the coveted trophy.

Real Madrid dominated the star-studded awards ceremony on Monday

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud received the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017 for his ‘scorpion kick’ against Crystal Palace in January.

Celtic won the fan award after they honoured the club’s 1967 ‘Lisbon Lions’ with a stunning 360-degree card display on the 50th anniversary of their historic European Cup win.

Lieke Martens of Barcelona and the Netherlands won best female player, Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane was named best men’s coach and Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman the best female coach.

THE campaign was recognised in a FIFA XI that featured Ronaldo and club-mates Toni Kroos, Luka Modric, Marcelo and Sergio Ramos.

The team was completed by goalkeeper of the year Gianluigi Buffon, Leonardo Bonucci, Dani Alves, Andres Iniesta, Messi and Neymar.

Veteran Juventus and Italy shot-stopper Buffon topped a three-strong shortlist for the goalkeeper award ahead of Real’s Keylor Navas and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer.

Zidane won out ahead of Chelsea’s Antonio Conte and Juventus’s Massimiliano Allegri to be crowned men’s coach of the year after becoming the first man to oversee a successful defence of the European Cup in the Champions League era.


Best Fifa men’s player – Cristiano Ronaldo

Best Fifa women’s player – Lieke Martens

Best men’s coach-Zinedine Zidane

Best women’s coach-Sarina Wiegman

Best goalkeeper- Gianluigi Buffon

Puskas award for best goal-Olivier Giroud

, , , ,

About Admin

Advertisement, Content marketing and  sponsored post: contact : [email protected]
View all posts by Admin →