Ronaldo,Buffon and Messi shortlist for 2016/17 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid},Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon Italy  and Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona) are the three nominees for the 2016/17 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award.

The 39-year-old goalkeeper was a key member of the impressive Juventus side that reached last season’s UEFA Champions League final in Cardiff but missed out on a first winner’s medal as the Italians were defeated 4-1 by Real Madrid.

Messi and Ronaldo have both won the award twice previously – Messi in 2010/11 and 2014/15, and Ronaldo in 2013/14 and last season. Other players who have won this accolade are Andrés Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona) in 2011/12 and Franck Ribéry (France, Bayern München) in 2012/13.

Uefa report that, the award will be presented at the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 24 August.

The shortlist for three players was selected by a jury comprising  80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stage of the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team, Players are judged on their performances in all competitions – domestic, continental and international.

The  top ten players are:

1:Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid,Italy

2:Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon

3:Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona
4: Luka Modrić (Croatia, Real Madrid)
5: Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)
6: Paulo Dybala (Argentina, Juventus)
7: Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)
8: Kylian Mbappé (France, Monaco)
9: Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern München)
10: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden, Manchester United