Messi, Ronaldo,Hazard, Kante and Ibrahimovic among the 24 nominees for Best FIFA Men’s Player award

Manchester United Striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic,Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez, Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante ,Harry Kane, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are among those on the list have all been shortlisted for the 2017 FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

Eden Hazard has been shortlisted for the award after his 16 top-flight goals – his best return in a Chelsea shirt – helped the Blues win the Premier League title last term.

The Belgian’s teammate, Kante, also played a key role in Chelsea’s success – just a year after he had a similar impact in Leicester’s title-winning team – while Kane has been nominated for his superb goalscoring return for Spurs last term.

Andres Iniesta is one of the more surprising names on the 24-man shortlist for the Best FIFA Men’s Player award for 2017.
The Barcelona captain has been included despite having been restricted to just 13 starts in LaLiga last season, largely due to injury problems.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane is on the list, having finished top of the Premier League goalscoring charts for the second campaign in a row, although Spurs’ season ended in disappointment, as they failed to win a trophy.

Real Madrid full-backs Dani Carvajal and Marcelo have been included after consistently strong displays in their side’s league and Champions League double in 2016-17.

Juventus duo Paulo Dybala and Gianluigi Buffon are also on the list.

Sanchez, meanwhile, ended the 2016-17 campaign with an FA Cup winners’ medal and scored 24 Premier League goals to end third in the English top-flight’s highest scorer charts

FourFourTwo Reported that, the list was compiled by a panel of former football greats including Diego Maradona, Cafu, Carles Puyol, Edwin van der Sar and Nigeria ex footballer Jay Jay Okocha.

The final trio of nominees will now be decided by a combination of a public vote, which runs between August 21 and September 7, as well as input from national team captains, coaches, and a panel of media representatives.

Best FIFA Men’s Player 2017 shortlist full list
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan, Juventus in 2016-17)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Free agent, Manchester United in 2016-17)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Marcelo (Real Madrid)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Keylor Navas (Real Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain, Barcelona in 2016-17)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)