Nigeria voter's card LASIEC

Lagos state Govt announces Restricts Movement for LG Election

The Lagos State Government has announced restriction of vehicular movement on Saturday July 22, in view of the local government elections holding the state.

The elections will hold across the 20 Local Government and 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) across the state.

In an announcement made by Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Steve Ayorinde .

The Commissioner urged residents “to be peaceful and orderly on Saturday to cast their votes in their respective wards for Chairmen and councilors who are expected to drive development at the third tier of government.”

The state’s Commissioner for Information and Strategy, in a statement on Sunday said that the restriction of movement would be enforced between 8a.m and 2pm. He said that the step was to allow for a smooth conduct of the polls and unhindered participation.

ALSO READThe Indigenous People of Biafra has order another new sit-at-home during Anambra Gubernatorial election

According to vanguard, Ayorinde urged residents to be peaceful and orderly on Saturday as they cast their votes in their respective wards for chairmen and councilors who were expected to drive development at the third tier of government.

He said that the election would bring on board a new set of public officers for the next four years at the local government level. According to him, the restriction will allow the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) and the security agencies to distribute electoral materials in good time and ensure the sanctity of free and fair electoral process.

“The police and other security agencies are ready to ensure that the electioneering campaign and the voting on Saturday are conducted smoothly without public disturbance.

“Every political party, candidates and their supporters, and the general public are hereby assured of safety throughout the period of voting and collation. “However, the government solicits the cooperation of voters and the general public by obeying the restriction order and the general electoral rules in order to ensure a peaceful conduct before, during and after the elections,” Ayorinde said.

READ:LASIEC says no plan to postpone Lagos Local Government council election

LASIEC had last week announced that 12 parties would participate in the July 22 election. It listed the parties as: All Progressives Congress (APC), Action Alliance (AA), Alliance for Democracy (AD), Labour Party (LP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Accord Party, Kowa Party, National Action Council (NAC), People’s Democratic Movement (PDM), United Democratic Party (UDP) and United Progressive Party (UPP). The electoral body had also displayed the list of validated candidates for the election at its headquarters.

SOURCE: vanguard