N’Golo Kante win PFA Player of the Year Crown, beats Eden Hazard and others

The French international footballer and Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year for the 2016-17 season becoming the first.

He secured the most votes from his fellow players. that saw off competition from Chelsea team-mate Eden Hazard (who won the award in 2015) plus Tottenham‘s Harry Kane, Everton striker Romelu Lukaku, Zlatan Ibrahimovic of Manchester United and Arsenal‘s Alexis Sanchez.

Thierry Henry in 2004 won the tittle who is on course to win a second successive Premier League title after also being part of the Leicester side which upset the odds last season.

The Blue midfielder Kante was presented with the award at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on Sunday evening.

Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli won the young player prize for the second successive season, Manchester City‘s Lucy Bronze won the women’s player of the year award for the second time having also won it in 2014, and Birmingham‘s Jess Carter topped the voting in the women’s young player category.

Former England captain David Beckham received the PFA’s Merit award for his contribution to the game.

Source: Telegraph UK